About the HCA

The HCA is comprised of two segments with two distinct functions: General Haddonfield Civic Association Membership and the Board of Governors (“BOG”).

General Haddonfield Civic Association Membership

In the fall on a yearly basis, current members of the HCA are sent updated dues information and invited to renew their membership. Every five years, there is a town-wide membership mailing to all Haddonfield households. General members can serve on standing committees and participate in BOG fundraising, operational and educational activities. At the HCA Annual Town Dinner in the spring, the general membership also approves through a voice vote the slate of officers offered by the Nominating Committee. This slate is for the officers of Board of Governors: President, Vice President, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary and Treasurer. (Only the President and the Vice President have term limits: one year terms with no more than two consecutive full terms allowed.)

Become a Member


The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors (“BOG”) meets on a monthly basis from September to June. There are several categories of membership on the Board: the officers (5), the immediate past President (1), the elected governors (12) and the appointed standing committee chairpersons (7). The Board is comprised of residents who should be knowledgeable, involved and engaged in town events/issues. These BOG members present these issues to the Board for consideration and possible action, depending on how the specific issue applies to the core mission of the Organization. Each person only has one vote, regardless of the position or the number of positions they occupy.

The BOG is a working board with each governor expected to choose a committee or initiative to join as the BOG works to fulfill its mission to serve the community of Haddonfield.

Initially a prospective BOG member is invited to join through a nominating process and upon acceptance by the Board, is placed in a four year term or “class”. There are four classes, each with three members each. At the end of those four years, the members “graduate” and must step off the Board. They will not be eligible for re-election to the Board for at least one year after the completion of the four year class term.

However, it is possible to remain as a voting member on the Board in the position of a standing committee chair or as an officer. As an officer or chairperson of a standing committee, they may or may not be removed from their initial class, creating an opening on the BOG with an unexpired term. An open slot with an unexpired term is also created when a BOG member steps down from the Board. In each case, a town resident or a member of the general membership can filled by the President, but with the approval of the Board. At the end of that term the BOG member may be nominated to begin again in a new class.

Read more about our Board of Governors


BOG Committees

There are seven standing committees: Education, Information Technology, Membership, Municipal Affairs, Property and Publicity. Detailed descriptions of each committee can be found in the By-Laws. Chairpersons, as well as co-chairpersons, are appointed by the President. Depending on the needs of the BOG, other temporary committees may be created. A town resident or General Member of the HCA can participate in BOG activities in a non-voting position by joining a committee as a member.

Read more about our Board of Governors Committees


A Long History – HCA Presidents

1911 – 1912 Frank A. Smith
1912 – 1913 S. Abbott Willits
1912 – 1913 A.H. Riddell
1913 – 1914 Clarence J. Hunter
1914 – 1916 S. Abbott Willits
1916 – 1918 Americus R. Underdown, Fr.
1918 – 1919 Ernest A. Farrington, Sr.
1919 – 1920 William J. Strandwitz
1920 – 1925 Robert Bradshaw
1925 – 1927 Charles R. Bacon
1927 – 1928 F. Victor Westermaier
1928 – 1930 Henry De Luce Snyder
1930 – 1933 Abbott L. Noble
1933 – 1935 Robert J. Tait Paul
1935 – 1938 Charles H. Hadley
1938 – 1939 Walter S. Cox
1939 – 1940 Russell L. Sammis
1940 – 1942 George F. Kent
1942 – 1944 James H. Gault
1944 – 1946 Jesse G. Haydock, Sr.
1946 – 1948 Richard M. Creamer
1948 – 1951 Joseph S. Riebel, Sr.
1951 – 1954 John S. Wood, Jr.
1954 – 1956 Louis H. Goettlemann
1956 – 1958 Edward T. Curry
1958 – 1960 Lewis M. Robbins
1960 – 1962 Ernest A. Farrington, Jr.
1962 – 1964 William H. Laudenslager
1964 – 1965 Eugene V. Hinski
1965 – 1967 Clarence N. York
1967 – 1969 George M. VonUffell
1969 – 1971 Earl B. Holl
1971 – 1973 Harry T. Kaufmann
1973 – 1974 Louis H. Goettelmann, II
1974 – 1976 C. Carlton Read, III
1976 – 1977 Thomas A. Eichlin
1977 – 1978 Edwin T. Shultz
1979 – 1980 Ray A. O’Neil
1980 – 1982 Mrs. Thomas H. McGlade (Dorothy)
1982 – 1984 Lawrence D. Lyford
1984 – 1985 James C. Tassini, M.D.
1986 – 1988 Elna A. Heck
1988 – 1990 Nicholas Settanni
1990 – 1992 Margaret Schock
1992 – 1993 William L. Lundgren III
1993 – 1994 William C. Kanupke
1994 – 1997 John H. Reisner, III
1997 – 1999 Neal C. Tully
1999 – 2001 John C. Connell
2001 – 2003 Annette MacMillan
2003 – 2004 Neal Rochford
2004 – 2007 Brett Harrison
2007 – 2008 Norm Hinsey
2008 – 2010 Anne Felten
2010 – 2012 Bill Tourtellotte
2012 – 2014 Dave Siedell
2014 – 2015 Lee Albright
2015 – 2018 Dennis Tully
2018 – 2020 Eric Johnson
2020 – Joseph Levine

Read more about our current Board of Governors

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This