Robert Bradshaw Memorial Contest

The Civic Association established an essay competition open to boys who were high school seniors during the Presidency of Robert Bradshaw (1920-1925). Mr. Bradshaw had a strong interest in the youth of the community and the competition served to encourage an interest and awareness of the need for participation in civic affairs. Through their writing students give thoughtful consideration to the particular subject proposed and express themselves. The essay program is conducted at HMHS under the supervision of the English Department and the essays are judged by a BOG committee. In 1931 four years after his death, the Civic Association paid tribute to its late Past President by renaming the competition the Robert Bradshaw Memorial Essay Contest.

Beginning in 1972, three finalists were chosen and invited to present their essays during the Town Dinner. On the night of the HMHS graduation, the recipient of the Robert Bradshaw Memorial Essay Contest is announced.

Example of topics:

1931 – Community Spirit in School and Town

1957 – My Philosophy of Life

1961 – Good Government is My Responsibility

1965 – What Improvements can be made in Haddonfield for the Teenager

1972 – A Citizen’s Responsibility to the Local Community

1977 – What Do You See as Problems Being Faced by Borough Officials and Citizens in 1987?

1983 – How Will the Computer Change Our Lives?

1985 – What is my Responsibility as A Concerned Citizen for the Solution to the Trash Disposal Problem at Home and In the World?

Submissions to the Contest were expanded in 2010 to allow for visual art, music and video entries in addition to a written essay. The entries are collected and judged by the HCA Education committee.

The committee uses a rubric, jointly designed with HMHS staff, to evaluate the entries. The rubric is comprised of 5 questions pertaining to the level of completion of varying categories, which include: design, knowledge, application, process and presentation. Each category is worth a maximum of 20 pts. for and total of 100. The two entries that earn the highest number of points are chosen as the winners and informed by the committee chairperson. Each award winners receives a $500 award at the HCA sponsored town dinner and is requested to present their winning piece to the attendees.

Past Robert Bradshaw Winners

2010's Recipients

  • 2013-1 Louis McGuigan, Essay Winner
  • 2013-2 Morgan Sehdev, Painting Winner
  • 2014-1 Allegra Saggese
  • 2014-2 Hayley Raymond